AAWR at AUR 2016 Annual Meeting

Lucy Spalluto, MD 

For the first time, the AAWR hosted a reception at the Association of University Radiologists (AUR) Annual Meeting.  The reception was held in the CityView Room on the 32nd floor of the San Diego Manchester Grand Hyatt.   This venue offered participants stunning views of Downtown San Diego and the San Diego Waterfront.


The event was extremely well attended by women (and a few men!) from institutions across the country.  Attendants ranged from residents and fellows to early and later career faculty members. Discussions centered on strengthening the roles of women in radiology departments and methods to encourage more women to enter the field of radiology.


The AUR is extremely supportive of Women in Radiology, as evidenced by strong female representation on the current Executive Committee (New AUR president is 2014 AAWR president, Dr. Yoshimi Anzai!).  Additionally, several women were recognized with AUR awards this year, including 2007 AAWR president, Dr. Judith Amorosa, who received the AMSER Excellence in Education Award.  One of the highlights of the AUR annual meeting, the film competition is named after Dr. Kay Vydereney , 1984 AAWR president.   Furthermore, the 2015 Gold medal award was given to Dr. Kimberly Applegate, 2003 AAWR president.


We hope this will be the first of many very successful AAWR events held in conjunction with the AUR Annual Meeting