Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award

Vijay M. Rao, MD, FACR is
 the David C Levin Professor and Chair of the Department of Radiology at Thomas Jefferson University.   She is a graduate of the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India’s premier medical school. After completing her residency in 1978 at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital and has remained on the faculty ever since.

Elizabeth LaTorre Travis, Ph.D., FASTRO 
Dr. Travis is the Associate Vice President for Women Faculty Programs, Mattie Allen Fair Professor in Cancer Research and Professor in the Departments of Experimental Radiation Oncology and Pulmonary Medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. 

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award, is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of women in radiology/radiation oncology.  The nomination form will address the unique role the nominee has undertaken in leadership, clinical care, teaching, and/or scholarship and the accomplishments that impacted women in our professions.  The nominee must be a long-term member of the AAWR. Presentation of the award will take place at the AAWR Annual Business Meeting Luncheon the Sunday during the RSNA Annual Meeting.

Alice Ettinger Distinguished Achievement Award:

Teresita L. Angtuaco MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU
Dr. Angtuaco received her medical doctorate at the University of Philippines in Manila in 1973. She did her residency training in Diagnostic Radiology at the Lahey Foundation in Boston, Massachusetts. She became a diplomate of the American Board of Radiology (with special competence in nuclear radiology) and the American board of Nuclear Medicine in 1981. She is currently a Professor of Radiology at the University of Arkansas Medical School (UAMS), Director of Imaging in the Radiology Department and Chief of Ultrasound.

The Alice Ettinger Distinguished Achievement Award , recognizes the lifetime achievement and lasting contribution to radiology/radiation oncology and to the American Association for Women Radiologists. Candidates must be long-term members of the AAWR and must have distinguished careers as mentors, teachers, and leaders in radiology/radiation oncology, and public service. 

Lucy Frank Squire Distinguished Resident Award in Diagnostic Radiology: 

Manish Bahl, MD
Manisha Bahl grew up in Chico, California, and graduated in three years with a perfect GPA from Stanford University, where she majored in Human Biology.  After completing her undergraduate studies, Manisha was selected as one of ten students nationwide for a prestigious one-year research fellowship at the National Institutes of Health.  She then earned her MD from the UC-San Francisco School of Medicine and a Masters in Public Health in Health Policy and Management from the Harvard School of Public Health.

The Lucy Frank Squire Distinguished Resident Award in Diagnostic Radiology recognizes outstanding contributions in clinical care and scholarship. The nominees must be members of the AAWR and must be in residency training at the time of the award. Only one nomination per residency program is allowed. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of outstanding contributions in clinical care, teaching, research, or public service.

Eleanor Montague Distinguished Resident Award in Radiation Oncology: 

Susan Hiniker, MD
Susan Hiniker graduated from University of Michigan Medical School in 2010. She is currently in her PGY-5 year of residency in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Stanford University Medical Center. Dr. Hiniker was the recipient of the Radiological Society of North America Resident/Fellow Research Award in 2012, the Stanford Society of Physician Scholars Grant in 2013, and the Thrasher Early Career Award in 2014.

The Eleanor Montague Distinguished Resident Award in Radiation Oncology recognizes contributions to radiology or the AAWR, community involvement, service during residency, or research endeavors. Nominees must be members of the AAWR and must be in residency training at the time of the award. There should only be only one nomination per residency program. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of outstanding contributions in clinical care, teaching, research, or public service.

Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award

Yvonne W. Lui, MD. 
A graduate of Yale University School of Medicine, Dr. Lui completed her radiology residency and neuroradiology fellowship at NYU. Her research expertise is in the use of novel MR imaging techniques to study brain trauma. Dr. Lui is faculty at the School of Medicine and Sackler School of Biomedical Sciences. She is an expert in clinical neuroimaging including interpretation of brain and spinal cord imaging and has a lifelong commitment to education.


The Foundation of the American Society of Neuroradiology (Foundation), American College of Radiology (ACR), and American Association for Women Radiologists (AAWR) have established an award to provide leadership opportunities for women in neuroradiology. Since neuroradiologists must be leaders in the field, this award is for mid-career women with demonstrated experience and promise for leadership in neuroradiology and/or radiology overall. The objectives are to provide the awardee with additional skills and insights to enhance opportunities for advancement.