Shaffer’s Generosity Supports Radiology Leadership Institute Award

Katherine (Kay) Shaffer, MD, FAAWR, FACR
AAWR President 1992




Katherine (Kay) Shaffer MD, FACR has contributed a generous gift to the American Association of Women in Radiology (AAWR) that will support women radiologists’ pursuit of leadership. Dr. Shaffer, longstanding AAWR member, was on the founding AAWR Steering Committee in 1981, served as AAWR Secretary from 1981-1989, and served as the 1992 AAWR President.  Kay received the AAWR Alice Ettinger Award in 2000 and the AAWR Marie Curie Award in 2007.  


Dr. Shaffer’s gift will fund an annual scholarship award for an AAWR member to attend the American College of Radiology’s (ACR) Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI). The RLI offers leadership skills training, professional development programming, and networking opportunities for radiologists who want to advance their careers.  RLI’s portfolio of programming includes contract negotiation, leading change, expanding leadership skills, and addressing practice culture. “The AAWR is committed to furthering the career advancement of women in radiology.  I am excited to be able to support these efforts through an annual scholarship to attend the RLI," says Shaffer.


Dr. Shaffer attended medical school at the University of Michigan and completed her residency in radiology at the Medical College of Virginia. Kay’s entire academic life was spent at the Medical College of Wisconsin.  Throughout her career, Dr. Shaffer has extensively contributed to the field of radiology.  She has chaired the ACR Committee on Radiologist Resources and served on the ACR Nominating Committee and Council Steering Committee.  Kay served as the Wisconsin Radiology Society President in 2000 and 2001.  She was a founding member of the American Society of Head and Neck Radiology (ASHNR), served as the 1987-1988 ASHNR President, and received the ASHNR Gold Medal in 2003.  Dr. Shaffer was the first woman to serve as chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Residency Review Committee in Diagnostic Radiology (1997 and 1998).  She is a Fellow of the ACR and the Society of Breast Imaging (SBI).


The AAWR is grateful for Dr. Shaffer’s very generous donation and her longstanding commitment to the organization. '

To learn more about the RLI 2022 Leadership Summit please click here.

Apply to the award Here 


This article was written by Lucy B. Spalluto, MD, MPH, AAWR Past President.