AAWR is celebrating 40 years of empowering, promoting and supporting women in radiology, interventional radiology, and radiation oncology.  Please join us as we reminisce and share inspiring stories of our last 40 years. A birthday party wouldn’t be complete without savory treats and a gift for our guests! During the live event attendees will enjoy a chocolate tasting together.  
Your ticket purchase will include a party favor box to be sent to your preferred address, including a collection of artisan chocolates.  The event host will guide you through the tasting and share tasty tidbits on the creation of each piece.  Your box will also be full of AAWR surprises!


A Members Only Benefit 


Carol Rumack MD, FAAWR

Carol Rumack MD, FAAWR
AAWR's First President 

Dr. Carol Rumack is a Pediatric Radiologist and a Distinguished Professor of Radiology and Pediatrics with Tenure and Associate Dean for GME at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. She was a pioneer in neonatal brain imaging with CT & Ultrasound and continues clinically to practice neonatal imaging in the high risk NICU. Early in her career, she recognized women needed to be accepted and supported in radiology for a successful career because getting a radiology faculty position was quite difficult for women. She joined the founding group of the American Association of Women Radiologists & became the first AAWR president. She was the AAWR Councilor to the ACR, ACR Commission on Ultrasound Chair on the Board of Chancellors and served as the ACR President in 2009-10.

Ritsuko Komaki, MD

Ritsuko Komaki, MD, FACR, FASTRO | Legion Healthcare Partners

Dr. Ritsuko Komaki
​2001 AAWR President

Dr. Komaki is  Emeritus Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Texas
M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.  She received her medical degree from Hiroshima University School of Medicine, Hiroshima, Japan.

In 2005, she has received award of Business and Professional Women in Texas.  NY Times, People Magazine and USA have interviewed her because of her scientific commitment for Radiation Oncology and patient care. In 2002, Dr. Komaki was listed in the Best Doctors in Houston. In 1991 She was also listed as one of  top cancer doctors for women in Good Housekeeping magazine. Dr. Komaki serves on the editorial board of many journals. She has published that 500 papers in peer reviewed journals.

Katarzyna J. Macura, MD., Ph.D, FAAWR

Katarzyna Jadwiga Macura, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Radiology and  Radiological Science | Johns Hopkins Medicine

Katarzyna J. Macura, MD., Ph.D, FAAWR​
2005 AAWR President
Katarzyna (Kasia) J. Macura, MD, PhD, FACR, FSABI, FAAWR, is Professor of Radiology, Urology and Oncology in the School of Medicine of the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD. She is Assistant Director in the Imaging Translational Program of the Johns Hopkins University Institute for Clinical and Translational Research. Dr. Macura is Past Vice-President of the American College of Radiology and Inaugural Chair of the ACR Commission for Women and Diversity. Dr. Macura is Past President of AAWR in 2005 and of the Maryland Radiological Society (MRS) 2013-2015. During her term as president, AAWR received the 2005 AAMC Women in Medicine Leadership Development Award. Dr. Macura received the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award from the American Association for Women in Radiology in 2016.

Susan Ackerman, MD FAAWR

Susan Ackerman, MD, FAAWR
​2016 AAWR President

Dr. Ackerman is a Professor, Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, and Director, Ultrasound at the Medical University of South Carolina. She currently chairs the Women’s Committee which is part of the ACR Diversity and Women’s Commission. She is Vice- Chair of Radiology at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, SC.

Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil.,


Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil.
AAWR Fellow, Past Committee Chair, and 20 Year Member

Dr. Jagsi is the Newman Family Professor and Deputy Chair in the Department of Radiation Oncology and Director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine at the University of Michigan.  Gender equity in academic medicine has been a key area of her scholarly focus, a subject to which she brings her perspective as a physician and social scientist to promote evidence-based intervention.  Author of over 300 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including multiple high-impact studies in journal. Her research to promote gender equity has been funded by R01 grants from the National Institutes of Health.

She is  an internationally recognized clinical trialist and health services researcher in breast cancer. Her work is frequently featured in the popular media, including coverage by the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, NPR, and national network nightly news.  Frequently invited as a keynote speaker, she has delivered invited talks at over 50 institutions and professional societies.

Chelsea Schmitt

The Event's Leader and Chocolatier! 
AAWR Newletter & MIT Committee Member

Chelsea Schmitt is an Intern in Internal Medicine at University of South Florida, where she also graduated from medical school. She will be starting her radiology residency at Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology this July. She has been a member of AAWR since 2018, active on the Member in Training Committee and contributing to the AAWR Newsletter. Though she has never completed a formal chocolatier apprenticeship, she puts the “Her” in Hershey; she’s never come across a chocolate she doesn’t like, and she’s beyond excited to Godiva into this chocolate tasting event with you all!